Wednesday, 19 December 2012

Doom Charts for 12/19/12

Necronomicon takes the number 1 spot with "The Queen of Death" and a couple of older songs make huge gains.  Gandhi's Gunn's "Haywire" climbs from 14 to 7, while Dwellers' "Blackbird" leaps into the charts at number 12.  We say goodbye to a couple Irish releases with last week's number 1, Sticky Digit's "Crazy" and Engines of Ruin's "Corporate Blues".  Also to go are "The Ice Mammoth" by Blue Aside, "Levantado (demo)" by The Heavy Eyes and "The Lost Art of Bong Rips" by Goat Bong.  Their places are taken by the aforementioned Dwellers along with, "The Tribe of the Cosmic Crow Giant" by Spectral Haze, "The Curse Is a Lie" by Down, "elf" by Mount Fuji and "Rock'n'rollin Maailma" by Seremonia.  Way back when the Doom Charts featured a mere 20 songs, actually sitting down and going through the playlist took about an hour and a half.  It took well over two hours to sit down and go through over 25 songs to do the charts today.  It just speaks to the sheer volumes of terrific music being released constantly in this incredible genre of music by these incredible musicians.

Top 25 Songs
#). Song Title (artist/album)
  1. The Queen of Death (Necronomicon / The Queen of Death)
  2. The Cloven Sea (Arkham Witch / Legions of the Deep)
  3. Tower of Skulls (Beastwars / 7" single)
  4. Leaving You (Graveyard / b-side "Goliath" single)
  5. Forgotten Past (Kadavar / ST)
  6. Follow the Forest Lights (The Wandering Midget / From the Meadows of Opium Dreams)
  7. Haywire (Gandhi's Gunn / The Longer the Beard the Harder the Sound)
  8. Circle Eater (Harvester / The Blind Summit Recordings)
  9. Centauri Teenage Riot (Indian Handcrafts / Civil Disobedience for Losers)
  10. Horsepuncher (Lord of the Grave / Green Vapour)
  11. Season of Decay (Ice Dragon / Season of Decay single)
  12. Blackbird (Dwellers / Good Morning Harakiri)
  13. Dry Hex (Zosimos / ST)
  14. Modern World (The Bad Light / Marrow of Sound)
  15. The Same Way (Corrosion of Conformity / ST [bonus tracks])
  16. Rock 'n' Rollin Maailma (Seremonia / ST)
  17. Nobody Knows (Sun Gods in Exile / Thanks for the Silver)
  18. Tribe of the Cosmic Crow Giant (Spectral Haze / ST Demo)
  19. Night (Ice Dragon / Tome of the Future Ancients)
  20. elf[11] (Mount Fuji / ST)
  21. Anxiety Puke / Lovelessness (Bison B.C. / Lovelessness)
  22. Two Gods / Caput Algol (Electric Taurus / 7" single)
  23. Cosmonauts (Axxicorn / 7" single)
  24. Damn the Sky (Beastwars / ST)
  25. The Curse Is a Lie (Down / Down IV Part I: The Purple EP)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...