Wednesday, 8 January 2014

Doom Chart: Most Paranoid Songs of 01/08/14

Top 25 Songs
#). Song Title (artist/album)
  1. The Seeker (Doctor Smoke / Demo 2013)
  2. Leadersheep (Saturn / Ascending)
  3. Robotic Invasion (Fu Manchu / split single w/ Moab)
  4. High Priestess (Black Majik Acid / ST)
  5. Champions (Sandrider / Godhead)
  6. Queen of the Black Harvest (Ice Dragon / Steel Veins single)
  7. Sinistra (Wounded Giant / Lightning Medicine)
  8. Frown Curve (March the Desert / Waves on the Moon EP)
  9. Fall Through (Maze of Roots / 2013)
  10. Ruler of Dust (Moon Coven / Amanita Kingdom)
  11. Invisible To See (Space Mushroom Fuzz / Stealing Some Time)
  12. Behold, The Annunaki (Brimstone Coven / II)
  13. Burnout Blues (Sangoma / Diviner)***
  14. Gary's Graveyard (Smoke / ST)
  15. Echoes in the Void (Black Skies / digital single)
  16. Horse Called Doom (Arrowhead / Atomsmasher)***
  17. Gunslinger (Valley of the Sun / Electric Talons of the Thunderhawk)
  18. Witch Is Burning (Doublestone / Wingmakers)***
  19. Come Samhain (Zodiac / digital single)
  20. Slave the Hive (High on Fire / digital single)
  21. Battalion of Zero (Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals / Walk Through Exits Only)
  22. As You Wish (Vista Chino / Peace)***
  23. Oblivion (Switchblade Jesus / Myelin Constellation)
  24. Black C (Black Skies / Circadian Meditations)
  25. Dead Friends (Doomriders / Grand Blood)
*** New Song

Outgoing songs:
Ride to Ruin (Hollow Leg / Abysmal)
Madness! (Space God Ritual / Eldritch Tales)
Sin revolución no hay evolución (At Devil Dirt / Plan B: Sin Revolución no hay Evolución)
Dawn Rising (Red Fang / Whales & Leeches)
PARANOID Spotlight on:
VALLEY OF THE SUN – “Gunslinger”
One of the biggest "what the fuck?"s in the entire underground world of stoner rock has been that Cincinnati, Ohio trio Valley of the Sun had been left unsigned and virtually ignored by record labels around the world for years on end.  Well, that's all changed now.  After two well-received E.P.'s the band successfully crowdfunded their debut long-player and made it available to download for all those who helped fund the recording.  The pre-order of the 10 song album was up on bandcamp for weeks while the band searched for a label to help with the distribution and release behind the scenes.  They streamed but a single song from the record, "Gunslinger" which is just a taste of what's to come.  Meanwhile the band inked a deal with Truckfighters's very own Fuzzorama Records to release that album April 1, 2014.  The bandcamp for the album called 'Electric Talons of the Thunderhawk' has been removed but "Gunslinger" is still available to stream at the link listed above (#17).

In a major reversal of fortunes, Valley of the Sun will hit the European roads with Truckfighters and White Miles between February 14 & March 8, playing Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Netherlands, France, Belgium and the U.K. (whew!).  Being one of the crowdfunders myself, I have my digital copy of the album already and I can say the band's success is well deserved.  The formula found on the band's 'Sayings of the Seers' E.P. of muscular fuzz and high doses of energy is respected without being repeated by rote.  The band has a few new tricks up their sleeves and the album is a full and satisfying listen.  "Gunslinger" isn't the only great song on the album, I'd say it's neither the best nor the least of the collection, it certainly makes for a fitting encapsulation of one side of the band.  The song will be joined by a second, "Maya" soon enough.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...